The crowdsourced database of new music releases

Know what’s new in music! Log in or sign up

American Idiot

7th studio album by Green Day

American Idiot is the seventh studio album by the American punk rock band Green Day. It was released in late September 2004 through Reprise Records and was produced by longtime collaborator Rob Cavallo. In mid-2003, the band began recording songs for an album entitled Cigarettes and Valentines. However, the master tracks were stolen and the band decided to start over. It was decided to produce a rock opera, inspired by the work of The Who and several musicals. It follows the life of “Jesus of Suburbia”, a sort of anti-hero created by Billie Joe Armstrong.

The album achieved success worldwide, charting in 26 countries and peaking at number one in nineteen of them, including the United States and the United Kingdom. Since its release, American Idiot has sold over 14 million copies worldwide. The album won a number of awards, including a Grammy for Best Rock Album, and received acclaim by critics.

Release dates

Region Date Source
Europe September 20th, 2004 amazon.co.uk/… hmv.com/…
Australia & Oceania, North America September 21st, 2004 amazon.com/… itunes.apple.com/… itunes.apple.com/…
Embed a release widget on your blog or website

Track list

1. American IdiotAmerican Idiot 1st single August 31st, 2004
2. Jesus of SuburbiaJesus of Suburbia 5th single October 25th, 2005
3. HolidayHoliday 3rd single March 14th, 2005
4. Boulevard of Broken DreamsBoulevard of Broken Dreams 2nd single November 29th, 2004
5. Are We the Waiting
6. St. Jimmy
7. Give Me Novacaine
8. She’s a Rebel
9. Extraordinary Girl
10. Letterbomb
11. Wake Me Up When September EndsWake Me Up When September Ends 4th single June 13th, 2005
12. Homecoming
13. Whatsername
Show 1 bonus track 57:12